NoMoreDirtyEnergy

Events & Actions

Action: Call for 100% renewables ahead of Paris talks

Today, outside the meeting of Europe’s Environment Ministers discussing the EU’s negotiating position for global climate talks in Paris in December, climate groups staged a symbolic ‘tug-of-war’ between polluting fossil fuels and renewable energy. They called for EU governments to join the side of citizens and build a 100% renewable future.

Today’s meeting is expected to reconfirm the EU’s existing emission reduction targets as its pledge for climate action at the Paris talks. The EU has committed to cut greenhouse gas emissions by at least 40% by 2030. However, this level of cuts does not represent the EU's fair share of the global effort to limit global warming to well below 2°C and avoid the worst impacts of climate change.

Wendel Trio, director of Climate Action Network Europe, said: “We call European leaders to ratchet up Europe’s climate targets, so that they reflect the urgency of a shift to a fully renewable energy system. European leaders have to make clear what they will bring to the negotiating table in Paris, in terms of Europe's ambitions to reduce emissions before and after 2020 and financial support for climate action in developing countries. We expect the EU to support the call from poorest countries for a full decarbonization of our economy by the middle of this century. The EU must pave the way for an agreement which will speed up the phase out of fossil fuels.”

Climate groups believe Europe has the potential and the responsibility to do more to speed-up the energy transition, and they want the EU to increase its efforts to tackle climate change for the benefit of the climate and citizens across the world. They say that the Paris summit can help end reliance on fossil fuels and reshape the energy system.

Daan Creupelandt from Belgium’s biggest renewable energy cooperative, Ecopower, said: “Ordinary people – like the 50,000 members of our energy cooperative in Belgium – are already showing that communities can come together to control and run their own renewable energy. If Europe puts its weight behind the people’s energy transition many more projects like ours can flourish.”

World governments are expected to reach a new international climate change agreement at the United Nations climate talks in Paris in December.

---
[1] Change Partnership, Climate Action Network Europe, Friends of the Earth Europe, Greenpeace, Nature Code, Oxfam, Transport & Environment and WWF

[2] Print quality images of the stunt will be available from 1pm at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/wwf_eu/sets/72157658002361661

Contact details:

Change Partnership, Sanjeev Kumar, sanjeev@changepartnership.org, +32 499 539731
Climate Action Network Europe, Ania Drazkiewicz, ania@caneurope.org, +32 494 52 57 38
Friends of the Earth Europe, Francesca Gater, francesca.gater@foeeurope.org, +32 485 93 05 15
Greenpeace, Luisa Colasimone, luisa.colasimone@greenpeace.org, +32 476 98 85 84
Nature Code - Andrew Coiley, andrew.coiley@naturecode.org, +32 483 65 50 78
Oxfam, - Joanna Sullivan, joanna.sullivan@oxfaminternational.org, +32 474 34 94 58
Transport & Environment, Nico Muzi, nico.muzi@transportenvironment.org, +32 484 27 87 91
WWF, Audrey Gueudet, agueudet@wwf.eu, +32 494 03 20 27

Contact Network Team

 EDDY

Eddy De Neef 
Head of Network Outreach
eddy/at/caneurope.org
+32 2893 0827 

Tom

Tom Boyle
Fundraising and Network Outreach Coordinator
tom/at/ caneurope.org
+32 2894 4676

MATHIAS

Mathias Claeys Bouuaert
Network Outreach Officer
mathias /at/ caneurope.org
+32 2893 0827   

RACHEL2

Rachel Simon
Network Outreach Officer
rachel /at/ caneurope.org

Latest Publications

See All: Climate & Energy Targets